Racism and hate – we won’t stand for it

Grief and national chaos

The grief of the last weeks has been indescribable –  I don’t feel that the ground has settled beneath my feet.

The murder of a British MP, the lovely and brilliant Jo Cox, during the height of the Brexit campaigning and the general mayhem of a result that nobody had a plan for. The most divisive democratic moments our country has faced certainly in a generation if not more. Families divided. Voters remorse. The Prime Minister resigning though he has the support of his colleagues because he won’t press the button and the Leader of the Opposition not resigning though he hasn’t the support of his colleagues. Chaos.

What we need to do right here, right now

Whilst I feel all that I have to bring it back to my leadership role here and now.

I see the fear growing in our BAME and European residents about their safety. Which is why I have made my first priority in the midst of the national context to seek to ensure that communities know that we will not accept hate and racism on our city’s streets.

Our city is a safe and diverse city and has an international outlook. 

We intend to keep it that way. I have been reassured by police that we aren’t seeing a spike in recorded hate incidents which is positive but I will ensure I get the figures that cover the period pre and post Brexit and I will reach out to communities to hear from them directly.

Last night I met BAME Labour and went to the Dialogue Society’s Iftar Dinner as a guest

IMG_5959IMG_5960.

Tonight I attend the Racial Harassment Forum and will take away any comments and experiences from there which require action.

Racism and hate – If you see it or experience it please report it. Here is a link with all the information you need

Our schools, our parks, our buses, our beach, our workplaces must be welcoming and safe for everyone. If you report an incident and you don’t get the response or help you need alert us.

 

 

 

One thought on “Racism and hate – we won’t stand for it

  1. It’s been refreshing to hear leaders from this city, from all parties, remind everyone the tolerant and accepting place Brighton and Hove is. It is very sad but so important we don’t get embroiled in hate during the post-Brexit fallout. Thanks for writing this Emma.

Leave a comment